Picture a Day: Apr 16

Two monarch butterflies on stonecrop flowers

I took this photo at the Brookfield Zoo back in 2005 with a Nikon D70, my first DSLR. Previous to this camera, I was firmly a Sony Cybershot user, mainly the Sony F717, what an awesome camera! But I had read a lot of great things about the Nikon D70 and interestingly a lot of F717 users were shifting over, so I made the jump and loved working different Nikon lenses. From then on, I was a big Nikon shooter (sorry, Canon peeps) before I ended up switching to a micro-4/3rds system (the Panasonic Lumix GF1, so great), and then to Fuji cameras (I think starting with the X-T1).

Anyway, I wish there were always a place I could take pictures of butterflies, but usually these kinds of things were seasonal exhibits at zoos or conservatories, at least in the Midwest. Oh, I just remembered the California Academy of Sciences has a regular rainforest exhibit with butterflies, so that's a good reminder for me! 🦋