Picture a Day: Apr 25

Scan of an expired instant film image of a cat sitting in a sunny window with his shadow cast on the wall to the right

I loved this high window in the first rental we lived in when we moved to Northern California. It was only accessible via a shelf that we put below this alcove thingy, and the cats loved having their own little play area, complete with 2 high windows for them to look out onto the walkways in front of the place. I took at least a few pictures like this, catching their shadows on the wall. In a previous 'Roid Week I posted a similar picture captured on Fuji pack film.

My note on the back of this instant film image indicates this film is The Impossible Project's PX100 "First Flush" monochrome film (so not technically Polaroid), and I shot it with a modified SX-70 Sonar. I don't recall how the SX-70 was modded. Not sure it mattered for shooting this film.

I don't recall the shot looking as grungy as it does now. I'm sure there were some light leak-ish effects when developing because this film was very light sensitive once ejected from the camera and had to be developed face down. But there might be additional "film rot", which in this case I don't mind as much since the overall image hasn't been destroyed. I have other expired Polaroid film, like this big batch of Artistic TZ film I bought from The Impossible Project which really went bad after fully developing. So if you didn't scan the image in the first ~12 (?) hours of taking the photo, you missed out on capturing the image without ugly brown "rot" overlaying parts, if not all, of the frame. 😒

Speaking of PX100 film, I found an unopened package of it, and an unopened package of honest-to-goodness Polaroid 600 film in my photo bin! I don't know what I'm going to do with them... They weren't properly stored in the refrigerator, so who knows what they'll look like when developed? And I don't have a working 600-type Polaroid SLR. Somewhere I have one or 2 600-type Polaroid point-and-shoot cameras, but I kind of don't want to "waste" the film on a non-SLR camera, as I don't do well nailing focus with those. I'll have to think on it. Sadly I don't have the budget to either have my SLR 680 fixed (likely expensive), or get one of those nifty Polaroid SLRs from Mint. I could probably shoot the film with my SX-70, but I will have to remind myself of how to adjust exposure.